New Hampshire Alcohol & Drug Abuse Counselors Association

Dedicated to Advancing Addiction Professionals in New Hampshire

Professional Development Calendar


The following calendar includes events sponsored by other organizations in addition to NHADACA. Events that are external are color-coded green.  

Note: Events and training may be cancelled, rescheduled, or moved online.  When in doubt, please call the host organization to confirm if the event details have changed.  


AUGUST 2020

8/6/20 Workforce Resilience: Promoting Clinician Well-Being; Diane Fontneau, LADC and Angela Thomas Jones, LCMHC, MLADC, LCS, CCFP, RYT; Virtual via Zoom (3 contact hours, 1:00pm-4:00pm, Registration fee $25; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

8/6/20 Transition-New Horizons Run for Hope; Virtual 5k Run (5:00pm, $10-$25) For more information please click here.

8/6/20 Creating and Enhancing Tobacco Free Facilities and Treatment Services; Online (4.75 CEs, 1:00pm-6:00pm) For more information please click here.

8/7/20 Advocacy Series, Session III: Bolstering the Addiction Workforce – A Call to Action; Israil Ali; Cynthia Moreno Tuohy, BSW, NCAC II, CDC III, SAP; Tim Casey; Online (1.5 CEs, 12:00pm-1:30pm) For more information please click here.



The Granite State has some of the highest rates of substance misuse in the country. It also has thousands of people working to support people on their many Roads to Recovery. This series offers people hope, inspiration and direction for prevention and treatment programs. Click here to view the series online.

8/11/20 Advanced Work with Justice Involved Women; Brenda Westberry; Virtual via Zoom (3 contact hours, 8:45am-12:00pm, Registration fee $25; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

8/10-12/20 Recovery Coaching a Harm Reduction Pathway; Jim Wuelfing and Dean LeMire; Virtual via Zoom (18 contact hours, 8:30am-4:00pm, NHADACA members $80, non-members $100; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

8/10/20 Creating and Enhancing Tobacco Free Facilities and Treatment Services; Online (4.75 CEs, 12:00pm-5:15pm) For more information please click here.

8/10/20 K-12 Suicide Prevention Training; Christine Miller; Online (9:00am-11:00am, $75) For more information please click here.

8/10/20 K-12 Suicide Prevention Training; Christine Miller; Online (12:00pm-2:00pm, $75) For more information please click here.

8/11 & 8/18/20 Working with Interpreters in Mental Health Settings; Linda Li, LICSW; Online (4 CEs, 4:00pm-6:10pm, $0-$45) For more information please click here.

8/14/20 Ethics for Telehealth 101; Malcolm Horn, PhD, LCSW, MAC, SAP; Virtual via Zoom (4 contact hours, 10:30am-3:00pm, NHADACA members $40, non-members $50; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

8/17/20 Curiosity and Connection: Clinical Applications for Self-regulation in Addiction Recovery; Melanie Sosinski Brown, LCSW, LADC, CCS; Online(1 CEs, 12:00pm-1:00pm) For more information please click here.

8/18/20 TIRO Crisis Navigation; Amelia Roeschlein, DSW, MA, LMFT, Online (2:00pm-3:00pm) For more information please click here.

8/18/20 Trauma Informed Instruction; Sarah Sherman; Manchester Campus, 88 Commercial St. (6 contact hours, 9:00am-3:30pm, $219) For more information please click here.

8/18/20 Certified Recovery Support Worker (CRSW) Performance Domains; Michael Lawless, LICSW, MLADC; Virtual via Zoom (6 contact hours, 8:30am-4:00pm, NHADACA members $55, non-members $65; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

8/19/20 Shared Risk & Protective Factors: What Are They and How to Use Them?; Sandra Del Sesto; Virtual via Zoom (3 contact hours, 8:45am-12:00pm, Registration fee $25; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

8/20/20 Alcohol Use Disorder in the Shadows: “Rethinking Drinking”; Sharon Morello, BSN, RN; Virtual via Zoom (3 contact hours, 8:45am-12:00pm, Registration fee $25; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

8/24/20 Cannabis Use in Pregnancy and Lactation: Understanding the Science and Assisting Practitioners with Prevention Strategies; Dr. Laura Borgelt; Dr. Tricia Wright; Online (1 CE, 1:00pm-2:00pm, free) For more information please click here.

8/28/20 Enhancing Motivation for Change for Transitioning Through the Stages of Change in Substance Abuse Treatment; Online (6hrs. $60) For more information please click here.

SEPTEMBER 2020

9/2/20 Advocacy Series, Session IV: Confidentiality Rule Changes and 42 CFR; H. Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, CAS, FASAM; Online (1.5 CEs, 3:00pm-4:30pm) For more information please click here.

9/9-10/20 Introduction to Trauma-Informed Treatment with Adolescents; Christopher Green; Online (5 CEs, 9:30am-12:30pm, $20) For more information please click here.

9/9/20 Game Plan: A Clinician’s Guide to Helping Men Achieve Emotional Fitness; Alan Lyme, LISW, MAC; Virtual via Zoom (6 contact hours, 8:30am-4:00pm, NHADACA members $55, non-members $65; NBCC add $5) Register here. 

9/10/20 Resiliency2020 - Resilience in An Ever-Changing World; Online (4 CEs, starts at 12:00pm) For more information please click here.

9/14/20 Ounce of Prevention Conference 2020; 50 Foster St. Worcester, Massachusetts 01608 (9:00am-3:30pm) For more information please click here.

9/15-9/16/20 Post-Traumatic Growth of Co-Occurring Disorders; Robin Pinard, LCMHC; Virtual via Zoom (6 contact hours, 9:00 am- 12:30 pm, daily, NHADACA members $55, non-members $65; NBCC add $5). Funded by Westbridge Community Services. Register here. 

9/16/20 Ethics, Boundaries & Confidentiality; Online (6hrs. $60) For more information please click here.

9/18/20 Resilient Survivors: Strong at Broken Places; Linda T. (Lynn) Sanford, LICSW; Bridgewell Headquarters 10 Dearborn Road Peabody ,MA 01960 (9:00am-4:00pm, $99) For more information please click here.

9/21/20 Behavioral and Therapeutic Tips and Tools from the Trenches for Teachers and Clinicians; Lonnie R. Ouellette, M.A./M.Ed./LABA; Laurel Ciavarri, Ph.D/BCBA; Bridgewell Headquarters 10 Dearborn Road Peabody ,MA 01960 (9:00am-3:00pm, $89) For more information please click here.

9/22-23/20 The Northeast Healthcare Innovation Summit; Boston, MA (7:45am-4:00pm, hotel rooms $339 per night) For more information please click here.

9/30/20 Human trafficking, the opioid epidemic, and treating trauma; Kira Krier; Capitol Plaza 100 State Street Montpelier, VT 05602 (7:30am-5:00pm, $50-$200) For more information please click here.

9/30/20 Solution Focused Therapy for Enhancing the Recovery Experience for Substance Abuse and Mental Health Clients with Generational SUDs and MH History; Online (6hrs. $60) For more information please click here.

OCTOBER 2020

10/9/20 Ethics; Anthony R. Quintiliani, Ph.D., LADC; ASA Bloomer Building 88 Merchants Row 2nd floor, Room 266, State Conference Room Rutland, VT 05701 (9:00am-4:30pm, $50-$100) For more information please click here.

10/16/20 Cultural Competency & Boundary Adherence When Working With SUD Clients; Online (6hrs. $60) For more information please click here.

10/22/20 Annual Celebration of the Humanities; ft. Russell Muirhead; The Rex Theatre 23 Amherst Street Manchester, NH 03101 (5:00pm, more info as we get closer to the date) For more information please click here.

10/23/20 Ethics; Heather Gagnon, MSW, LICSW, LADC; Windjammer 1076 Williston Rd South Burlington, VT 05403 (9:00am-4:30pm, $50-$100) For more information please click here.

10/23/20 Ethics and Boundaries in Coaching Youth Affected by Substance Use Disorder; Mike Hague; Manchester Campus, 88 Commercial St. (6 Contact hours, 9:00am-4:00pm, $189) For more information please click here.

10/30/20 Advocacy Series, Session V: Bringing it Home – Grassroots Advocacy; Sherri Layton, LCDC, CCS; Michael Kemp, NCAC I, ICS, CSAC, CSW; Online (1.5 CEs, 12:00pm-1:30pm) For more information please click here.

10/30/20 Addiction in the Church: Bridging the Gap Between Christianity and Recovery; Online (6hrs. $60) For more information please click here.

NOVEMBER 2020

11/20-11/22/20 Cocaine, Meth, and Stimulant Summit; Miami, FL (Event will still proceed as planned, tickets range from $199-$1,125) For more information please click here.

DECEMBER 2020 


On-Demand Webinars

The following are ongoing webinars created and offered by various organizations.

Honoring Indigenous Traditions for Youth Health and Wellbeing   https://yipa.org/training/online/honoring-indigenous-traditions-youth-health-wellbeing/

A Systemic Approach to Youth Homelessness and Exploitation   https://yipa.org/training/online/systemic-approach-youth-homelessness-exploitation/

Supporting Youth in Life Transitions, Career Exploration, and Workforce Navigation  https://yipa.org/training/online/supporting-youth-in-life-transitions-career-exploration-and-workforce-navigation/

The Crisis of Our Black Youth in the Juvenile Justice System  https://yipa.org/training/online/crisis-our-black-youth-juvenile-justice-system/

An Inside-Out Approach to Navigating Youth Trauma  https://yipa.org/training/online/an-inside-out-approach-to-navigating-youth-trauma/

Empowering Youth Self-Advocacy  https://yipa.org/training/online/empowering-youth-self-advocacy/

Adopting a Mentoring Mindset  https://yipa.org/training/online/adopting-a-mentoring-mindset/

The Power of Relationships in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/power-relationships-youth-work/

Youth Work Legislative Advocacy 101  https://yipa.org/training/online/youth-work-legislative-advocacy-101/

Social Activism in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/social-activism-in-youth-work/

Calming Challenging Behavior  https://yipa.org/training/online/calming-challenging-behavior/

How You and Your Organization Can Manage Burnout and Secondary Trauma  https://yipa.org/training/online/you-your-organization-manage-burnout-secondary-trauma/

Design Thinking for Dynamic Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/design-thinking-for-dynamic-youth-work/

Gender Literacy for Inclusive Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/gender-literacy-inclusive-youth-work/

Youth DO Have Rights!  https://yipa.org/training/online/youth-do-have-rights-self-advocate/

Using Behavior Interventions to Build Self-Regulation  https://yipa.org/training/online/using-behavior-interventions-build-self-regulation/

Help All Youth Heal: A Journey Through Restorative Practices  https://yipa.org/training/online/help-all-youth-heal-journey-through-restorative-practices/

Identifying and Addressing Depression in Youth  https://yipa.org/training/online/identifying-addressing-depression-youth/

Less Stress with Move Mindfully┬« Interventions  https://yipa.org/training/online/less-stress-move-mindfully-interventions/

How to Navigate Mandated Reporting  https://yipa.org/training/online/navigate-mandated-reporting/

The Incremental Strategy of Harm Reduction in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/incremental-strategy-harm-reduction-in-youth-work/

Trauma Across Generations: Engaging the African American Community  https://yipa.org/trauma-across-generations-engaging-african-american-community/

Conflict Resolution Toolkit  https://yipa.org/training/online/conflict-resolution-toolkit/

Relationships, Girls, and Juvenile Justice Interventions  https://yipa.org/girls-juvenile-justice-interventions/

Helping Youth Make Healthy Choices  https://yipa.org/training/online/helping-youth-make-healthy-choices/

How You Can Help Youth Manage Anxiety  https://yipa.org/help-youth-manage-anxiety/

Understanding Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Makes a Difference  https://yipa.org/understanding-fetal-alcohol-spectrum-disorders-makes-difference/

Equity and Inclusion in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/equity-inclusion-youth-work/

Positive Youth Development in Talking About Sexuality Topics  https://yipa.org/positive-youth-development-sexuality-topics/

Teen Brain Development & Risk for Substance Abuse  https://yipa.org/teen-brain-development-risk-substance-abuse/

What You Need to Know About Eating Disorders  https://yipa.org/need-know-eating-disorders/

Your Role in Retaining Great Youth Workers  https://yipa.org/role-retaining-great-youth-workers/

Engaging Youth via Pop Culture  https://yipa.org/training/online/engaging-youth-via-pop-culture/

The Trials and Tribulations of Adolescence  https://yipa.org/training/online/trials-tribulations-adolescence/

Ethical Dilemmas in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/ethical-dilemmas-youth-work/

Suicide Prevention Steps Youth Workers Need to Know  https://yipa.org/training/suicide-prevention/

Self-Sabotaging Behaviors  https://yipa.org/training/in-person/self-sabotaging-behaviors/

LGBTQ Foundations: Awareness, Knowledge, and Skills  https://yipa.org/training/in-person/lgbtq/


Sign up for a training today!

Discover professional development training events in New Hampshire & surrounding areas.

View Training Events

Announcements

Stay connected with NHADACA! 

Stay Connected

Sign up to get updates, news & more!

Get in Touch

We'd love to hear from you!
Address
130 Pembroke Road, Suite 100
Concord, NH 03301
view map
Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8AM – 4PM
Phone
603.225.7060
Fax
603.589.1191
Email

Connect on Facebook

Join our facebook community! 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software