New Hampshire Alcohol & Drug Abuse Counselors Association

Dedicated to Advancing Addiction Professionals in New Hampshire

Professional Development Calendar


The following calendar includes events sponsored by other organizations in addition to NHADACA. Events that are external are color-coded green.  

Note: Events and training may be cancelled, rescheduled, or moved online.  When in doubt, please call the host organization to confirm if the event details have changed.  


OCTOBER 2020

10/19-10/23/20 Art and Science of Peer Assisted Recovery; Jim Wuelfing and Brian Lane; Virtual via Zoom (30 hours, 8:30am-4pm, daily, Registration $100; NBCC add $5).  Register  here. 

10/20/20 Effective Care of Chronic Pain Made Simpler:  Non-opioid medications in pain treatment; ECHO Session lead by Dartmouth-Hitchcock Project ECHO Team (1 CE, noon-1 pm, free of charge, AMA Category 1 Credits also available) Anyone is welcome to attend and may attend all or even just one session. For more information please click here.

10/21/20 More Than Health Care Part II; Online (12:00pm-1:30pm) For more information please click here.

10/22/20 Annual Celebration of the Humanities; ft. Russell Muirhead; The Rex Theatre 23 Amherst Street Manchester, NH 03101 (6:00pm, more info as we get closer to the date) For more information please click here.



The Granite State has some of the highest rates of substance misuse in the country. It also has thousands of people working to support people on their many Roads to Recovery. This series offers people hope, inspiration and direction for prevention and treatment programs. Click here to view the series online.


10/23/20 Ethics; Heather Gagnon, MSW, LICSW, LADC; Windjammer 1076 Williston Rd South Burlington, VT 05403 (9:00am-4:30pm, $50-$100) For more information please click here.

10/23/20 New Professionals in Social Work; Online (12:00pm-1:00pm, Free) For more information please click here.

10/23/20 Ethics and Boundaries in Coaching Youth Affected by Substance Use Disorder; Mike Hague; Manchester Campus, 88 Commercial St. (6 Contact hours, 9:00am-4:00pm, $189) For more information please click here.

10/24/20 Recovery Coach 2.0; Mary Drew; United Church of Jaffrey 54 Main Street Jaffrey, NH 03452 (9:00am-12:00pm, Free) For more information please click here.

10/27/20 The Payoff of Investing in Social Determinants of Health: A Sustainable Financing Approach that Improves Outcomes; Len M. Nichols, M.A., Ph.D.; Benjamin Miladin, B.A., M.S.W., LISW‐S; Online (12:00pm-1:30pm, Free) For more information please click here.

10/30/20 Advocacy Series, Session V: Bringing it Home – Grassroots Advocacy; Sherri Layton, LCDC, CCS; Michael Kemp, NCAC I, ICS, CSAC, CSW; Online (1.5 CEs, 12:00pm-1:30pm) For more information please click here.

10/30/20 Motivational Interviewing; Donald Scherling, PsyD, LADC, CCS; Online (6 CEs, 9:00am-4:00pm, $90) For more information please click here.

10/30/20 Addiction in the Church: Bridging the Gap Between Christianity and Recovery; Online (6hrs. $60) For more information please click here.

10/31/20 Wicked FIT Run; Online (Starts at 9:30am, $10-$25) For more information please click here.

NOVEMBER 2020

11/3/20 Effective Care of Chronic Pain Made Simpler:  Physical approaches to pain management; ECHO Session lead by Dartmouth-Hitchcock Project ECHO Team (1 CE, noon-1 pm, free of charge, AMA Category 1 Credits also available) Anyone is welcome to attend and may attend all or even just one session. For more information please click here.

11/4, 11, 18/20 Neuroscience Directed Treatment for Domestic Violence Cases; Charlie Safford, LCSW; Celia Grand, LCSW; Online (9:00am-1:15pm, $45-$240) For more information please click here.

11/5/20 Multimodal Composition in Your Classroom (M.S. & H.S.);    Bethany Silva; Online(9:00am-3:30pm, $169) For more information please click here.

11/5/20 Alcohol Use Disorder in the Shadows: “Rethinking Drinking”; Sharon Morello, BSN, RN;  Virtual via Zoom (3 hours, 8:45am-noon; Registration fee: $25; NBCC add $5) State Opioid Response Scholarships are available for this training.  To apply, please visit www.nhadaca.org/Scholarships. Register here. 

11/6/20 Developing Inquiries in Elementary Social Studies (K-5); Elaine Marhefka; Online (9:00am-3:30pm, $169) For more information please click here.

11/6/20 Connect Suicide Postvention:  Reducing Risk and Promoting Healing After a Death by Suicide; Ann Duckless, MA; Virtual via Zoom (4 hours, 8:30 am to 1:30pm, NHADACA members:  $55; non-members $65; *NBCC add $5).  Register here. 

11/13/20 Developing Inquiries in Elementary Social Studies (K-5); Mark Wiley; Online(9:00am-3:30pm, $169) For more information please click here.

11/17/20 Effective Care of Chronic Pain Made Simpler:  Psychobehavioral approaches; ECHO Session lead by Dartmouth-Hitchcock Project ECHO Team (1 CE, noon-1 pm, free of charge, AMA Category 1 Credits also available) Anyone is welcome to attend and may attend all or even just one session. For more information please click here.

11/18/20 Boosting Student Motivation; Mike Anderson; Online(9:00am-3:30pm, $219) For more information please click here.

11/18-19/202020 NEADCP Conference; Online. For more information please click here.

11/19/20 The Angry, Anxious Child in School; Tere Bowen-Irish; Online (9:00am-3:30pm, $169) For more information please click here.

11/20-11/22/20 Cocaine, Meth, and Stimulant Summit; Miami, FL (Event will still proceed as planned, tickets range from $199-$1,125) For more information please click here.

11/24/20 Virtual Thanksgiving Breakfast; Online (Starts at 8:00am, up to $100) For more information please click here.

DECEMBER 2020 

12/1/20 Effective Care of Chronic Pain Made Simpler:  Interventionist approaches; ECHO Session lead by Dartmouth-Hitchcock Project ECHO Team (1 CE, noon-1 pm, free of charge, AMA Category 1 Credits also available) Anyone is welcome to attend and may attend all or even just one session. For more information please click here.

12/4/20 Lower Your Risk of Ethics Complaints and Malpractice Actions in Mental Health Care; Jerrold Pollak; Portsmouth - 231 Corporate Drive (9:00am-4:00pm, $189) For more information please click here.

12/4/20 Social Thinking, Social Issues, and Social Skills Groups for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders; Robin Lurie-Meyerkopf; Portsmouth - 231 Corporate Drive (9:00am-4:00pm, $169, Join the Waitlist) For more information please click here.

12/9/20 Practical Techniques and Strategies for Coaching Children and Teens; Hannah Mariotti; Manchester Campus, 88 Commercial St. (9:00am-4:00pm, $189) For more information please click here.

12/14-12/15/20 Ethical Consideration in Peer Assisted Recovery; Jim Wuelfing and Cheryle Pacapelli; Virtual via Zoom (12 hours, 8:30am-4pm, daily, NHADACA members $80, non-members $100; NBCC add $5

12/15/20 Effective Care of Chronic Pain Made Simpler:  Opioids in pain management; ECHO Session lead by Dartmouth-Hitchcock Project ECHO Team (1 CE, noon-1 pm, free of charge, AMA Category 1 Credits also available) Anyone is welcome to attend and may attend all or even just one session. For more information please click here.

JANUARY 2021 

1/5/21 Effective Care of Chronic Pain Made Simpler:  Patient-centered opioid tapering; ECHO Session lead by Dartmouth-Hitchcock Project ECHO Team (1 CE, noon-1 pm, free of charge, AMA Category 1 Credits also available) Anyone is welcome to attend and may attend all or even just one session. For more information please click here.

1/13/21 Model for Treating Anxiety, Depression and Low Self-Esteem; Christine Miller; Manchester Campus, 88 Commercial St. (9:00am-4:00pm, $189) For more information please click here.

1/19/21 Effective Care of Chronic Pain Made Simpler:  Cannabis and pain;    ECHO Session lead by Dartmouth-Hitchcock Project ECHO Team(1 CE, noon-1 pm, free of charge, AMA Category 1 Credits also available) Anyone is welcome to attend and may attend all or even just one session. For more information please click here.




On-Demand Webinars

The following are ongoing webinars created and offered by various organizations.

Honoring Indigenous Traditions for Youth Health and Wellbeing   https://yipa.org/training/online/honoring-indigenous-traditions-youth-health-wellbeing/

A Systemic Approach to Youth Homelessness and Exploitation   https://yipa.org/training/online/systemic-approach-youth-homelessness-exploitation/

Supporting Youth in Life Transitions, Career Exploration, and Workforce Navigation  https://yipa.org/training/online/supporting-youth-in-life-transitions-career-exploration-and-workforce-navigation/

The Crisis of Our Black Youth in the Juvenile Justice System  https://yipa.org/training/online/crisis-our-black-youth-juvenile-justice-system/

An Inside-Out Approach to Navigating Youth Trauma  https://yipa.org/training/online/an-inside-out-approach-to-navigating-youth-trauma/

Empowering Youth Self-Advocacy  https://yipa.org/training/online/empowering-youth-self-advocacy/

Adopting a Mentoring Mindset  https://yipa.org/training/online/adopting-a-mentoring-mindset/

The Power of Relationships in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/power-relationships-youth-work/

Youth Work Legislative Advocacy 101  https://yipa.org/training/online/youth-work-legislative-advocacy-101/

Social Activism in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/social-activism-in-youth-work/

Calming Challenging Behavior  https://yipa.org/training/online/calming-challenging-behavior/

How You and Your Organization Can Manage Burnout and Secondary Trauma  https://yipa.org/training/online/you-your-organization-manage-burnout-secondary-trauma/

Design Thinking for Dynamic Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/design-thinking-for-dynamic-youth-work/

Gender Literacy for Inclusive Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/gender-literacy-inclusive-youth-work/

Youth DO Have Rights!  https://yipa.org/training/online/youth-do-have-rights-self-advocate/

Using Behavior Interventions to Build Self-Regulation  https://yipa.org/training/online/using-behavior-interventions-build-self-regulation/

Help All Youth Heal: A Journey Through Restorative Practices  https://yipa.org/training/online/help-all-youth-heal-journey-through-restorative-practices/

Identifying and Addressing Depression in Youth  https://yipa.org/training/online/identifying-addressing-depression-youth/

Less Stress with Move Mindfully® Interventions  https://yipa.org/training/online/less-stress-move-mindfully-interventions/

How to Navigate Mandated Reporting  https://yipa.org/training/online/navigate-mandated-reporting/

The Incremental Strategy of Harm Reduction in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/incremental-strategy-harm-reduction-in-youth-work/

Trauma Across Generations: Engaging the African American Community  https://yipa.org/trauma-across-generations-engaging-african-american-community/

Conflict Resolution Toolkit  https://yipa.org/training/online/conflict-resolution-toolkit/

Relationships, Girls, and Juvenile Justice Interventions  https://yipa.org/girls-juvenile-justice-interventions/

Helping Youth Make Healthy Choices  https://yipa.org/training/online/helping-youth-make-healthy-choices/

How You Can Help Youth Manage Anxiety  https://yipa.org/help-youth-manage-anxiety/

Understanding Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Makes a Difference  https://yipa.org/understanding-fetal-alcohol-spectrum-disorders-makes-difference/

Equity and Inclusion in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/equity-inclusion-youth-work/

Positive Youth Development in Talking About Sexuality Topics  https://yipa.org/positive-youth-development-sexuality-topics/

Teen Brain Development & Risk for Substance Abuse  https://yipa.org/teen-brain-development-risk-substance-abuse/

What You Need to Know About Eating Disorders  https://yipa.org/need-know-eating-disorders/

Your Role in Retaining Great Youth Workers  https://yipa.org/role-retaining-great-youth-workers/

Engaging Youth via Pop Culture  https://yipa.org/training/online/engaging-youth-via-pop-culture/

The Trials and Tribulations of Adolescence  https://yipa.org/training/online/trials-tribulations-adolescence/

Ethical Dilemmas in Youth Work  https://yipa.org/training/online/ethical-dilemmas-youth-work/

Suicide Prevention Steps Youth Workers Need to Know  https://yipa.org/training/suicide-prevention/

Self-Sabotaging Behaviors  https://yipa.org/training/in-person/self-sabotaging-behaviors/

LGBTQ Foundations: Awareness, Knowledge, and Skills  https://yipa.org/training/in-person/lgbtq/


Sign up for a training today!

Discover professional development training events in New Hampshire & surrounding areas.

View Training Events

Announcements

Stay connected with NHADACA! 

Stay Connected

Sign up to get updates, news & more!

Get in Touch

We'd love to hear from you!
Address
130 Pembroke Road, Suite 100
Concord, NH 03301
view map
Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8AM – 4PM
Phone
603.225.7060
Fax
603.589.1191
Email

Connect on Facebook

Join our facebook community! 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software